Monday, May 29, 2017

ARC Review: Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts

SummaryBeing a bastard blows. Tilla would know. Her father, Lord Kent of the Western Province, loved her as a child, but cast her aside as soon as he had trueborn children.

At sixteen, Tilla spends her days exploring long-forgotten tunnels beneath the castle with her stablehand half brother, Jax, and her nights drinking with the servants, passing out on Jax’s floor while her castle bedroom collects dust. Tilla secretly longs to sit by her father’s side, resplendent in a sparkling gown, enjoying feasts with the rest of the family. Instead, she sits with the other bastards, like Miles of House Hampstedt, an awkward scholar who’s been in love with Tilla since they were children.


Then, at a feast honoring the visiting princess Lyriana, the royal shocks everyone by choosing to sit at the Bastards’ Table. Before she knows it, Tilla is leading the sheltered princess on a late-night escapade. Along with Jax, Miles, and fellow bastard Zell, a Zitochi warrior from the north, they stumble upon a crime they were never meant to witness.

Rebellion is brewing in the west, and a brutal coup leaves Lyriana’s uncle, the Royal Archmagus, dead—with Lyriana next on the list. The group flees for their lives, relentlessly pursued by murderous mercenaries; their own parents have put a price on their heads to prevent the king and his powerful Royal Mages from discovering their treachery.

The bastards band together, realizing they alone have the power to prevent a civil war that will tear their kingdom apart—if they can warn the king in time. And if they can survive the journey . . .


Expected Release Date: May 30th, 2017

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion 

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Review:

Royal Bastards was one of my most highly anticipated releases of 2017, you can read about my other highly anticipated releases here. I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced digital copy of Royal Bastards, an epic Young Adult fantasy novel, through NetGalley and I absolutely loved it. The story, characters, and writing are addictive and I cannot wait for the last two books in this trilogy. If you are a fan of fantasy novels, epic road trips, or great character dynamics, Royal Bastards is a must-read.

Although Royal Bastards is a fantasy novel, it is perfect for new fantasy readers or individuals who do not particularly like the genre. The fantasy elements incorporated into the story are easy to process and minimal. I struggle with getting into fantasy novels because of the vast differences between the real world and the fantasy world; however, I easily fell into the world of Royal Bastards. While the world is expansive, the transition between worlds is done smoothly and gradually, allowing time for adjustment. Somehow, Andrew Shvarts effortlessly builds this epic and expansive fantasy world while also allowing his readers to easily process the world. Whether you love fantasy or dislike the genre, I highly recommend Royal Bastards. It effortlessly hooked me and kept me engaged from the very first page to long after I turned the last page. 

Andrew Shvarts is a phenomenal author. I can never use the right words to describe an author's writing, but believe me when I say that his story-telling and writing is fantastic. Although fantasy novels continuously have similar plot points and similar character/character development, he manages to create a new and refreshing Young Adult fantasy novel that I wanted to become a  a part of (theoretically that is). He crafted brilliant characters and a captivating plot that had me hooked. Whether or not he has a heart is debatable, I commend his choices even though they pain me to. 

My only issue with Royal Bastards was that I guessed the major plot twist. It was rather predictable. Although the plot point did work well in the story, I wish he would have incorporated it into the story in another way. This particular plot twist has occurred in many other novels and I was disappointed to see it in Royal Bastards. Besides that issue, Royal Bastards was a phenomenal read and I cannot wait to continue on with the trilogy. 

Royal Bastards is a must-read Young Adult fantasy novel for fantasy lovers and haters alike. Andrew Shvarts' writing, addicting plot, and his brilliant characters and fantasy world will hook anyone and never let them go. Book two in this trilogy will most certainly be on my most highly anticipated releases list for whatever year it is published. Any other book Andrew decides to write will also be put on my immediate to-be-read list. This is his Young Adult debut and I am extremely impressed. I cannot wait to see what his writing future has in store for him. Royal Bastards was a refreshing fantasy novel that I cannot stop thinking about, I can only imagine what lies ahead for these characters and Andrew's career. I highly recommend picking up your own copy of Royal Bastards on May 30th of 2017.





Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Excerpt Reveal: Salvaged (Saints of Denver #4) by Jay Crownover

   
 

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jay Crownover continues her delightfully sexy Saints of Denver series with the next thrilling standalone, SALVAGED! Don’t miss the amazing excerpt below and pre-order your copy today!



Hudson Wheeler is a nice guy. Everyone knows it, including his fiancée who left him with a canceled wedding and a baby on the way. He’s tired of finishing last and is ready to start living in the moment with nights soaked in whiskey, fast cars, and even faster girls. He’s set to start living on the edge, but when he meets Poppy Cruz, her sad eyes in the most gorgeous face he’s ever seen hook him in right away. Wheeler can see Poppy’s pain and all he wants to do is take care of her and make her smile, whatever it takes.

Poppy can’t remember a time when she didn’t see strangers as the enemy. After a lifetime of being hurt from the men who swore to protect her, Poppy’s determined to keep herself safe by keeping everyone else at arm’s length. Wheeler’s sexy grin and rough hands from hours restoring classic cars shouldn’t captivate her, but every time she’s with him, she can’t help being pulled closer to him. Though she’s terrified to trust again, Poppy soon realizes it might hurt even more to shut Wheeler out—and the intense feelings pulsing through her are making it near impossible to resist him.

The only thing Poppy is sure of is that her heart is in need of some serious repair, and the more time she spends with Wheeler, the more she’s convinced he’s the only man with the tools to fix it.

 

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google

iBooks | Amazon UK | Amazon Canada


ADD SALVAGED TO YOUR GOODREADS







      Poppy 

I rounded the corner at the end of my block and came to a halt. The puppy took that as a sign that we were done playing outside and started jumping all over my lower legs and pawing at my shins. He whined at me until I picked him up, and as soon as he could reach my face, his little tongue started darting all over my chin and cheeks. I wondered if he could feel the tension that made my limbs stiff and the anxiety that tightened all my muscles. I felt my breath catch in the back of my throat and there was no stopping my eyes from rapidly blinking to make sure what I was seeing was real and not a figment of my imagination. 

 He looked like one of those black-and-white art prints that hung in every diner and restaurant I’d ever eaten in. The one that was a throwback to another era when cool was something you had to cultivate and couldn’t buy on Amazon. He was leaning against a black-and-silver car that looked like it should be on the cover of a hot-rod magazine and not parked on a busy and crowded Capitol Hill street. He had on dark jeans and a dark canvas jacket that had the logo of his garage embroidered on the front. His ankles were crossed on the curb in front of him and one booted foot bounced up and down, giving the impression that he’d been waiting for me for a while. His arms were crossed over his chest and his eyes were locked on mine as I stood still, unsure what to do. He had an effortless kind of charisma that radiated off of him. It was equal parts intimidating and irresistible. I was unsure if my feet wanted to rush me toward him or run me as far from him as possible. 

The puppy made the decision for me. Seeing another human, and thus another opportunity for pats and rubs, he threw his wiggling little body out of my arms before I could react. He hit the ground with a little yelp and then bolted right for Wheeler. I let out a gasp and took off after him thinking I could catch the end of the leash that was trailing behind him. I didn’t want him to run into the road or veer off into a yard where he didn’t belong. I was light-years away from being able to handle a confrontation with a hostile stranger that didn’t want the puppy in their space. 

I didn’t need to worry because Wheeler pushed his long, lean frame off the polished side of the car and reached the scrambling animal within just a few strides. He crouched down as the puppy hurled himself into his arms and scooped the excited bundle up in one fluid motion. Then he was rising back up to his full height, which meant he was towering over me when I made my way over to where he was standing. I was embarrassed at how out of breath I was. I was supposed to be stronger than I was before, but I could hardly handle a little jog up the block or the way my heart raced at the sight of him. 

I shook my head and put my hands on my hips as I looked up and into those arctic eyes. He was scratching the puppy under the chin and looking at me from under lashes that had the barest hint of red to them. “Why don’t you have a coat on?”

It wasn’t what I was expecting but his question reminded me that I was cold and that the lightweight hoodie that had the Saints of Denver logo on it wasn’t doing much to keep the bitter chill in the air off my skin. The shirt came from the tattoo shop where both Rowdy and Salem worked and was probably the most exciting garment I had in my closet. It was the only thing I owned that was bright and colorful. I rubbed my arms up and down and fired my own question right back at him. “What are you doing here?” 

 The puppy barked like he was telling me not to be rude but I was unsettled by Wheeler’s unexpected appearance, and not the typical unsettled that I struggled with because he was a man that I didn’t know. It was the kind of unsettled that made parts of my body I forget could react to an attractive man feel warm and tingly. The kind of unsettled that had me involuntarily leaning closer to him as he started to shift so that he could pull his heavy jacket off one arm without letting go of the dog.

“I wanted to talk to you about the dog. Did you find someone to take him yet?” He shifted the puppy to his now bare arm as I watched the endless amounts of ink that covered his skin move and flex as he shook his other arm free of the coat. 

 “Uh…not really.” The truth was I hadn’t really put that much effort into finding someone because I didn’t want to let the puppy go. In just a few days I’d grown surprisingly attached even though I knew I wasn’t allowed to keep him in my apartment. I’d already asked since Dixie was allowed to keep Dolly, but the landlord informed they were grandfathered in before the laws surrounding pit bulls in Denver changed. My little guy wasn’t that lucky. 

 My response made Wheeler chuckle. He stared at me silently as he held out the coat he’d taken off in his free hand. 

“Put this on.” I stared at him like he’d suddenly started speaking Russian until he shook the coat again and frowned at me. His voice was serious and left no room for argument when he repeated the command. “Put this on, Poppy.”  



*   *   * 

Jay Crownover continues her Saints of Denver series with SALVAGED, available June 20, 2017



Preorder and fill out the form here: https://a.pgtb.me/MdHvvG


Enter your name, email address, and the order number from your pre-order receipt on the form to receive an advance excerpt of DIGNITY and a Saints of Denver Doodle download to print at home.


Entries must be received by midnight PST on June 19th to be eligible.


The print-at-home Doodle and Dignity excerpt will be emailed the week of June 20th









Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men, The Point, and the Saints of Denver series. 


Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she'll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. 


She lives in Colorado with her dogs.  





      

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

















 

Monday, May 22, 2017

Monday Recommendations



Monday is one of the most hated days of the week. Whether you have to return to work or school, Mondays are terrible. To lighten this dreaded day of the week, I thought I would share some of my favorite books that make me happy enough to conquer any Monday.





The Arcana Chronicles is a Young Adult post-apocalyptic series with a unique addition of Arcana cards. The series is a one-of-a-kind gem that is highly underrated. It is one of the most underrated series I have read. I have met few individuals that have read the series, but those who have read the series have loved the series as unconditionally as I do. 


The Arcana Chronicles is Kresley Cole's only Young Adult series, but I need more books written by her. She has numerous Adult books and series, but I have yet to read any of those. Even though her Arcana Chronicles was not extremely popular, I hope she is not discouraged from writing future Young Adult books. She has an amazing talent that I would love to see explore more Young Adult genres.

While I deeply love the third novel in the Arcana Chronicles, Dead of Winter, the second novel, Endless Knight, is my absolute favorite. I adore the interactions between the characters as well as the extension of the world and the characters' backstories in Endless Knight

I cannot stop smiling when I think about my favorite characters from the series. I cannot fathom how much I love this series and how much it breaks my heart knowing that not many people know about or appreciate this series. If you ever take any recommendation of a Young Adult series to read, I really hope it is the Arcana Chronicles. The series deserves more love, it is truly one-of-a-kind.








The Shatter Me trilogy is one of my absolute favorite Young Adult trilogies. I was beyond excited when it was recently announced that there will be three new sequels to the trilogy. I cannot wait to be reconnected with my favorite characters. I have missed Juliette, Warner, Kenji, and the rest of the crew dearly since the release on Ignite Me in 2014. 

I am petrified that my dearly beloved characters are now at the mercy of Tahereh once more: however, these are her children as well, so any harm that comes to them will hurt her the same, if not more than me. No matter what happens to them, I am excited and ready to face it. 

Long before the announcement of the new additions to the trilogy, I would constantly revisit my favorite passages of Unravel Me and the entirety of Ignite Me. I love revisiting the growth of the characters as well as all the shocking revelations and tender moments between the characters. The relationship between the characters, two of them in particular, warms my heart and always leaves me wanting more. I just hope I can handle everything that will be thrown at these characters in the near future.







Cora Carmack is one of my favorite New Adult authors. She has written three New Adult series, two of which are based in contemporary settings, and the third is based in a paranormal/mythology setting. 

My favorite New Adult series by Cora is her Rusk University series. All Played Out, the third novel in the Rusk University series, is my favorite of the series and my favorite book by Cora. The Rusk University series follows football players at Rusk University as they navigate their lives and their love-lives. All Played Out follows Nell, a character extremely similar to myself, and her Rusk sweetie, Mateo. They are each others missing half and their love makes my heart happy.

I am excited for the upcoming fourth novel in the Rusk University series, All Closed Off, which is expected to be released in July. Cora also has her first Young Adult novel, Roar, the first novel in an epic Young Adult fantasy series, releasing on June 13th. Cora Carmack is an amazing Young Adult and New Adult author and all her books are must-reads.






The Deal is the first book in the four-book New Adult Off-Campus series. The Off-Campus series is a New Adult companion series that follows four male Hockey players at Briar University as they find love. I have yet to read the fourth and final book in the series, but The Deal is by far my favorite of the three I have read. 

Whenever I initially started The Deal, I was worried I would not enjoy it as much as I thought I would. However, after a few chapters, I was hooked and in love. I absolutely love the romance and banter between the love interests, Hannah and Garrett. They both make my heart melt and I am constantly rereading my favorite scenes between them. 

The Deal is perfect for individuals that have sworn off New Adult books because they are full of tropes and are extremely stereotypical. The Deal is truly refreshing. I cannot express how much I love The Deal

For a limited time you can order the original Ab covers of the Off-Campus series. If you are a long-time fan looking to complete your collection or are a new fan who wants the old covers, you have until the end of May to get your orders in. If you live in the U.S., you can order yours here. If you are located in Canada or Internationally, you can use that same link to get to Elle Kennedy's website then go under her purchase tab and choose the correct form.




Those are the five books that I love to revisit when I am down or need a pick-me-up. I am struggling to get through the remaining weeks of school, so these books will most definitely be in my thoughts throughout the day. Let me know in the comments what books you turn to when you are feeling down or need a helping hand. Also, let me know if you have read any of the books I mentioned and what you think of them. 

No matter where you are going today or what you are doing, I wish you a fantastic Monday! 








Friday, May 19, 2017

ARC Review: The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

SummaryThere is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.
 (Via Goodreads.com)



Pages: 373

Publisher
: Feiwel & Friends 

Expected Release Date: May 16th, 2017

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Review:
I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy of The Love Interest through an ARC swap on Twitter. While I had read few reviews about the novel, individuals I follow on Twitter were captivated by the book and so was I. The Love Interest follows a teenage boy, Caden, who is a Love Interest. The mission of a Love Interest is to make an important individual fall in love with them so they can gather important information for their secret spy organization who sells the secrets to the highest bidder. However, the plan goes awry when Caden falls for the Love Interest he is competing against to win the heart of their Chosen.

The Love Interest is an utterly unique debut from Cale Dietrich. The novel puts an interesting spin on the classic love-triangle trope and develops a unique and compelling plot. The characters and the secret spy organization were well developed and intriguing; however, the ending of the novel was it's major flaw. While the ending was extremely cliche, I could overlook it. However, the ending was hurried and sloppily done. The pacing of the end was extremely fast and, although I constantly reread sections, I was still confused as to what had happened. It was disappointing being addicted and in love with a novel that's ending was hurried and barely finished. I did read an advanced copy so the ending could have been slowed down; however, the version I read was very fast and rather confusing. 

The Love Interest made me question myself. It prompted me to begin thinking about my value of self-preservation in comparison to my value of others. The novel raises questions pertaining to selflessness, love, and the value of others. 

The Love Interest was not only an intriguing and addicting read, it was also an important read. Unfortunately, I cannot divulge much more without spoiling the novel; however, my lack of words is because I simply do not have enough words to describe my love for this book. The Love Interest was thrilling, romantic, and addicting. I cannot wait to see what else Cale publishes. If The Love Interest is an indicator, he has the potential to become one of my absolute favorite authors. I highly recommend getting a copy of The Love Interest and I also recommend putting Cale Dietrich on your radar.



Excerpt Reveal: Roar (Stormheart #1) by Cora Carmack

   

From New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack comes her debut young adult fantasy, ROAR! Releasing June 13, 2017, ROAR takes readers on an adventure filled with charismatic characters in an enthralling world sure to keep them turning the pages. Don’t miss the amazing excerpt below!




  New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack's young adult debut: Roar.

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora's been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.
Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.


Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Book Depository


Add to your Goodreads







There was a hole in her chest, an awful, gaping hole that screamed like she wanted to. Like a cyclone, it seemed to suck up everything in its path until her knees were curled into her chest and her body hunched, and she just kept collapsing in and in and in. Suddenly unable to breathe, she clawed at the beaded fastenings that connected her headdress and necklace. One of her fingernails bent and splintered as she scrabbled for the hooks; when she could not find them, she took hold of the beaded cord and pulled until it broke, beads scattering across the stone floor around her.

The headdress tipped sideways, tugging painfully on her hair. Again and again, she pulled at the ties until her palms felt raw and beads littered the floor around her. The headdress began to sag, and she was nearly done, nearly free when someone stepped through the archway, and she froze.

Novaya.

Thank the skies. The dark-haired servant held an urn full of steaming water in her hands, and she stared in horror as if she had stumbled upon a monster rather than a crying girl. Nova had been Rora’s closest friend before she cut herself off from everyone at her mother’s command. Girls with secrets the size of Rora’s could not have friends. Nova took a step forward, paused, then knelt down, her large brown eyes carefully blank.

“Should I call for your guards? The queen?” Nova asked.

“No!” Softer, Aurora said, “No. Please don’t tell anyone.”

Once upon a time, Nova had kept all her secrets. Now the two rarely even looked at each other in the eye when their paths crossed, and it was all Aurora’s fault.

“Your Highness? What happened?”

Rora shook her head and returned to tugging at the headdress still tangled in her hair. She couldn’t say the words aloud, couldn’t let anyone see how much of a fool she was. Aurora had become accustomed to her shortcomings as a Stormling, as an heir. But she’d thought she had her mother’s strength, tenacity, and intelligence. But maybe that was wishful thinking. Maybe she was altogether…inadequate.

“Stop, Princess. You’re hurting yourself.” Nova put the water aside, crawled forward, and grabbed Rora’s wrists. “Aurora, stop.”

All the years spent missing their friendship came rushing back, and she froze at the sound of her name. Not Princess. Not Your Highness.Aurora. But the moment she stopped moving, it all came crashing down on her. Her naïve plan to kiss him, to experience something real. She should have known that her future would hold only more lies. As if she knew anything about real life, real anything. She lived in this palace, protected and pampered and put away like a doll on a shelf, too fragile for anything but appearances. And it seemed that’s all she would ever be.

Cassius wanted control of the city for himself. He thought he’d have to fool her to do it, but the moment the world found out that Rora had no magic, he’d become the ruler in truth, and she’d be the puppet at his side. He wouldn’t have to feign interest in her then. He wouldn’t need her at all.

She wound her arms about her legs and rested her forehead on her knees. Nova moved closer, and Rora sat still and silent as the girl worked to remove the headdress. Her old friend had grown into a beautiful young woman—flawless bronze skin, shiny black hair, stunning features. She’d recently begun assisting the royal seamstress in addition to her position as a maid. She probably had more friends than she could count. Aurora could not help imagining how different her life would be now fi she had never become heir.

The headdress finally gave way, and Nova slipped it off and laid it on the stone floor beside them.

“Tell me what happened.”

Rora leaned back against the wall. It was cool against her abused scalp, and she muttered, “Nothing happened.”

At least she had that much. She hadn’t kissed that beast. But what she had done felt worse. She had hoped. And hope broke more hearts than any man ever could.

“Should I get someone? A friend?”

Rora let out a bleak, cold laugh. As if she had any of those. Softer, she said, “I don’t want to see anyone. I just need this dress off. The makeup too. I need to breathe, and I can’t do it through all this mess.”

“I can do that. I came to help remove the headdress and gown. Stand up and we’ll go to your room. Everything will be fine, Your Highness.”

She didn’t tell her old friend how wrong she was, not as she peeled the dress off her and unlaced the corset. Not as she wiped away the powder that was smudged and striped on Rora’s face, thanks to falling tears. Another maid came in with more steaming water for a bath and Rora let them clean her up, wishing it was as easy to wipe away the last few hours.

She sat in the bath until the water grew cold and her skin shriveled like dying fruit. She had to face the facts. The Rage season was coming, as was this sham of a wedding. And she didn’t know how to fight it any more than she knew how to stop a storm.

But she would not give Cassius any more opportunities to see her vulnerable. Nor was she giving up. If there were no other way, she would marry Cassius.

But she had six days. Wars had been won, empires toppled, and cities leveled in less time. If there was a way out of this, Rora would find it.





Cora Carmack is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Since she was a teenager, her favorite genre to read has been fantasy, and now she’s thrilled to bring her usual compelling characters and swoon-worthy romance into worlds of magic and intrigue with her debut YA fantasy, Roar. Her previous adult romance titles include the Losing It, Rusk University, and Muse series. Her books have been translated into more than a dozen languages around the world. Cora splits her time between Austin, TX and New York City, and on any given day you might find her typing away at her computer, flying to various cities around the world, or just watching Netflix with her kitty Katniss. But she can always be found on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and her website www.coracarmack.com.   


  

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads








 








Monday, May 15, 2017

ARC Review: Salvaged (Saints of Denver #4) by Jay Crownover

Summary: The New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men books continues her delightfully sexy Saints of Denver series.

Hudson Wheeler is a nice guy. Everyone knows it, including his fiancée who left him with a canceled wedding and a baby on the way. He’s tired of finishing last and is ready to start living in the moment with nights soaked in whiskey, fast cars, and even faster girls. He’s set to start living on the edge, but when he meets Poppy Cruz, her sad eyes in the most gorgeous face he’s ever seen hook him in right away. Wheeler can see Poppy’s pain and all he wants to do is take care of her and make her smile, whatever it takes. 

Poppy can’t remember a time when she didn’t see strangers as the enemy. After a lifetime of being hurt from the men who swore to protect her, Poppy’s determined to keep herself safe by keeping everyone else at arm’s length. Wheeler’s sexy grin and rough hands from hours restoring classic cars shouldn’t captivate her, but every time she’s with him, she can’t help being pulled closer to him. Though she’s terrified to trust again, Poppy soon realizes it might hurt even more to shut Wheeler out—and the intense feelings pulsing through her are making it near impossible to resist him. 

The only thing Poppy is sure of is that her heart is in need of some serious repair, and the more time she spends with Wheeler, the more she’s convinced he’s the only man with the tools to fix it. (Via Goodreads.com)

Pages: 334

Publisher: William Morrow

Release Date: June 20th, 2017

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Review:

It is hard to believe that Salvaged marks the end of the Saints of Denver and Marked Men series. Before I officially start this review, I want to thank Jay Crownover and Melissa Shank for allowing me to read Salvaged early. They were hosting a giveaway for Salvaged ARCs in Crownover's Crowd, a Facebook group dedicated to Jay's novels. I am extremely thankful for the ARC, Salvaged is my most highly anticipated novel of 2017 and it did not disappoint.

If you are unaware, Salvaged is the fourth and final novel in Jay Crownover's Saints of Denver series. The Saints of Denver series is the spin-off series of Jay's Marked Men series. Both series are New Adult companion series that have an order; however, the reader can decide if they want to read each book in the series or if they only want to read the stories of specific characters. 

Salvaged follows Poppy and Wheeler who are two of my absolute favorite characters from both series. They have both been through the ringer. It was amazing to finally read their happily ever after. Salvaged also included plenty of scenes and mentions of the other Marked Men and Saints of Denver characters. At times, it got rather emotional to see where all the characters currently are. While it is sad that these characters will no longer be written about, at least anytime in the near future, it is comforting to know that they are all living in safety and are happy. 

It is hard to describe my love for Salvaged without posting spoilers. It was a wild ride, but my love for these characters only grew stronger as the story continued. It was great to see the blossoming of Poppy and Wheeler's relationship while also seeing the development of the relationships between the characters in each of the Marked Men and the Saints of Denver novels. Poppy and Wheeler's relationship was beautiful and worth the wait.

I, without a doubt, loved Salvaged, but Built, the first novel in the Saints of Denver series, is still my favorite Jay Crownover novel. Poppy and Wheeler's story was fantastic, but Zeb and Sayer will always have a special place in my heart. For that matter, all of the Marked Men and Saints of Denver characters have a special place in my heart, but Built knocked me off my feet. 

My favorites in the Marked Men series are Nash (Book 4), Rowdy (Book 5), and Jet (Book 2). To give the novels a ranking after Built, I would need to reread them all, which would be a delight, but I do not have enough time to do so. Sometime in the future, I plan to revisit these characters. I have been with the Marked Men and Saints of Denver for the last two years and the journey I have had with them is unforgettable. Whether you are a long-time fan or a new one, I hope you pick up a copy of Salvaged on June 20th and devour it.